Subaru WRX STI

24 Hours Nürburgring: Subaru WRX STI Wins 2 Years In A Row

For the 2nd consecutive time, the Subaru WRX STI won in class in the final race of the 44th 24 Hours Nürburgring held in Germany between May 28 and 29.

Subaru has participated in the 24 Hours Nürburgring race for 9 consecutive years since 2008. Winning 2 consecutive years between 2011 and 2012, Subaru again secured its second consecutive win on top of its victory in 2015 for the SP3T class.

The SP3T class is a category where contestants compete in turbo vehicles with under 2.0 liters engine displacement. Competing vehicles for 2016 are dubbed with the title of “NBR Challenge 2016,” these vehicles being low center of gravity automobiles with flat engines and maximized balance of design, improving their speed when cornering. Vehicles have been altered for lower weight and lowered moment of inertia, improvements to aerodynamic performance and front down force, altered settings to engines that allow for their smaller diameter restrictors due to regulation changes, and even other improvements such as investments into new tires.

The drivers returns from winning their class in 2015. Hideki Yamauchi (Japan), Marcel Lasée (Germany), Carlo van Dam (Netherlands), and Tim Schrick (Germany) raced for the Subaru team.

This Subaru WRX STI ran over 121 laps of the course, securing their second win in a row for the SP3T class. This is the second time the Subaru team has had 2 consecutive wins in class, the first being between 2011 and 2012. Subaru also placed 20th overall.

Supervising the team was Eiji Tatsumi who commented “It was thanks to the teamwork displayed by the Subaru group and the support of Subaru fans everywhere. That being said, I did have a sense that this race wouldn’t go smoothly. That we reached the goal at the top of the pack is something that made our fans very happy. Thanks very much for all your support.”

[Translated by Bryce Clarke]