New Acura (Honda) NSX

WCOTY announces the 14 nominees for its Luxury & Performance category for 2017

At the 2016 Paris Motor Show at the end of September, the organizers of World Car Of The Year (WCOTY) announced the 14 nominations for the 2017 World Luxury & Performance Car.

World Luxury & Performance Car is one of WCOTY’s awards categories. This year, it chose the best new model in terms of luxury and performance that was debuted from the fall of 2015 to the fall of 2016.

The preconditions are that it will continue to be built and sold until spring 2017 and that it is sold in two or more continents. It also cannot be a winner in the special Europe, North America, Japan or other passenger car categories. The jury includes around 70 journalists from over 20 different countries.

The 2017 World Luxury & Performance Car nominees are:

Audi R8 Spyder
BMW 5 Series
Bentley Bentayga
Cadillac CT6
Cadillac XT5
Honda (Acura) NSX
Hyundai Genesis G90
Lexus LC500
Lincoln Continental
Mercedes-Benz E Class
Mercedes-Benz AMG Roadster
Porsche Boxster / Cayman
Range Rover Evoque Convertible
Volvo S90/V90

The nominees include two Japanese makers, the new Honda (Acura) NSX hybrid super car and the Lexus brand’s new flagship, the LC500.

Two overseas makers had two models nominated. They were Mercedes-Benz with the new E Class and the Mercedes AMG Roadster, and Cadillac with the CT6 and the XT5.

The winner of the 2017 World Luxury & Performance Car 2017 will be announced at the New York International Auto Show in April, 2017.

(Translated by Greg Scott)