Mazda MX-5 (Roadster)

WCOTY names 10 finalists for 2016 including three Japanese models

On January 26, the World Car of the Year (WCOTY) sponsoring organization announced its 10 finalists for the 2016 World Car of the Year.

The WCOTY began over a decade ago in 2005. This year’s winner will be selected from a list of new models that debuted between fall 2014 and fall 2015. To qualify, each vehicle must still be produced and sold at the end of May 2016 and be available in at least two continents. In other words, models that are exclusively sold in Europe, North America, or Japan are excluded from qualification.

The winner will be voted on by a group of 74 journalists from 23 different countries based on six elements including value, safety, environmental performance, and concept.

The 10 finalists for the 2016 World Car of the Year are as follows.

Audi A4
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar XE
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Mazda CX-3
Mazda MX-5
Mercedes-Benz GLC
Skoda Superb
Toyota Prius

As for Japanese cars, a couple of Mazdas, the CX-3 and the all-new MX-5, made the final cut. The new Mazda2 was amongst the 10 finalists for last year’s award. The all-new Toyota Prius also made the list of finalists for this year.

The 2016 World Car of the Year will be announced on March 23 at the 2016 New York International Auto Show. The new Mercedes-Benz C class was crowned as last year’s winner.